North Bay Shorts Two support groups to meet in Santa Rosa

Sign up for Weekday J and get the latest on what's happening in the Jewish Bay Area.

Marga Gomez opens MJCC solo season

Marga Gomez will open the Marin Jewish Community Center's Solo Spotlights series with her "Woman Off-Color" act at 8 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 9 at 200 N. San Pedro Road, San Rafael.

Danny Hoch will follow in the series, performing "Some People" at 8 p.m. Thursday, Jan. 23 and Saturday, Jan. 25.

James Lecesne, who starred in last year's Solo Mio Festival in San Francisco, will present "Word of Mouth" at 8 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 8 and 5 p.m. Sunday, Feb. 9.

Sherry Glaser from the off-Broadway "Family Secrets" will premiere her newest work,"Diosa, " at 8 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 27 and Saturday, March 1, and at 5 p.m. Sunday, March 2.

Lauren Tom, an Obie Award-winning actress, a dutiful daughter in the film "The Joy Luck Club" and a regular on the TV series "Friends," will perform in "25 Psychics," at 8 p.m. Saturday, April 5 and 5 p.m. Sunday, April 6.

Tickets are $90 for the season, and are now on sale. For information, call (415) 479-2000.

School head

Kaki Jacobs Tusler, newly named 1996-97 interim head of campus at Brandeis Hillel Day School in San Rafael, has worked for 28 years in the Kentfield School District. For the past two years, she served as interim principal at two schools in the Reed school district in Tiburon.