Leadership award set for Bettie Laven

Schmelzer also served as a board member of Shaare Zedek Hospital and tutors emigres from the former Soviet Union.

Other officers who will be elected are Harold S. Stein Jr., senior vice president; Martin R. Aufhauser, Andrew M. Colvin, Susan O. Epstein, Barbara Isackson, Milton Jacobs, Richard S.E. Johns and Steven Kornetsky, vice presidents; and Samuel A. Fishman, treasurer.

Tribute will be paid to Richard L. Jaeger, who has served as chapter president since 1994 and will continue as chairman of the executive committee.

The meeting will begin at 7:30 p.m. with a dessert reception in the St. Francis Suite of San Francisco's St. Francis Hotel. Cost is $20 per person. To make reservations, call (415) 777-3820.