Sen. Boxer on Shoah panel

Sens. Alfonse D'Amato (R-N.Y.), Christopher Dodd (D-Conn.) and Arlen Specter (R-Pa.) are the other senators appointed to the group, which includes members selected from the executive branch, the House of Representatives, the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum and private citizens.

"We are asking other nations to undertake a pai nful self-examination, and now we are showing the world that we are willing to do the same," Boxer said.