Beastie Boys to join Rock Hall of Fame

The Beastie Boys — the pioneering hip-hop group made up of Mike D (Michael Diamond), MCA (Adam Yauch) and Ad-Rock (Adam Horowitz) — are going to be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

The group will be among the class of 2012 that includes the Red Hot Chili Peppers, Donovan and Guns N’ Roses.

The Beastie Boys, creators of hits such as “Fight for Your Right (To Party),” “No Sleep ’Til Brooklyn” and “Sabotage,” have released 12 albums that have sold more than 40 million copies worldwide.

The ceremony will be held in April at the Hall of Fame in Cleveland. — jta