two headshots, of a man and a woman
News editor Gabe Stutman (left) and staff writer Maya Mirsky were both recognized at the S.F. Press Club awards Dec. 13, 2023. (Photo/Aaron Levy-Wolins)

J. staffers scoop up five S.F. Press Club awards

J. news editor Gabe Stutman and staff writer Maya Mirsky won a combined five awards from the San Francisco Press Club at the club’s 46th annual awards on Wednesday night.

Stutman won second place in the “series or continuing coverage” category for his in-depth set of stories on the white nationalist group Goyim Defense League, founded in the Bay Area. Three stories were submitted: “‘Thanks Jews, for the publicity’: Is Goyim TV succeeding?”, “Berkeley yoga instructor fired for links to ‘Goyim TV’” and “America’s most prolific antisemitic propaganda group leaves Bay Area.” The same series also won a first-place Rockower Award from the American Jewish Press Association.

J. first reported on GDL’s founder, Jon Minadeo Jr., in 2019. Stutman has followed the group’s activities for years and covered several breaking news stories.

Stutman also won second place in the general news category for “How a dispute over a ‘Zionism Is Racism’ mural derailed an S.F. public library exhibit,” about an “Arab Liberation Mural” in the Mission District’s Clarion Alley that was to be exhibited at the main branch.

Mirsky won third place in the investigative reporting category for “Fresno State report sheds light on librarian’s Nazi views,” which detailed the university’s investigation of Henry Miller Madden, a Hitler-loving antisemite for whom the school’s library was named.

Mirsky and Stutman also received honorable mentions: Mirsky for “New state hate crime bill differentiates Hindu swastika from Nazi emblem” and Stutman for “’Open Shabbat’ welcomes the Sabbath with San Francisco’s unhoused.”

The San Francisco Press Club ceremony, held at the historic Elks Lodge off Union Square, recognized exceptional work published in 2022 by news outlets around the Greater Bay Area. Other winners included former J. staff writer and current Mission Local managing editor Joe Eskenazi and J. board member and Bloomberg Businessweek writer Peter Waldman. J. was honored alongside media outlets including the San Francisco Standard, San Francisco Examiner, the San Francisco Chronicle, El Tecolote, Berkeleyside and KQED.

“We at J. are so proud that Gabe Stutman and Maya Mirsky received these awards, which are so meaningful coming from their peers in the San Francisco press,” J. CEO Jo Ellen Green Kaiser said. “We are honored to be counted among our esteemed colleagues from throughout the local press.”

Lea Loeb
(Photo/Aaron Levy-Wolins)
Lea Loeb

Lea Loeb is engagement reporter at J. She previously served as editorial assistant.